New Years Honours list revealed

A number of County Durham residents have joined Barbara Windsor and AP McCoy in the New Years Honours List for 2015.

Catherine Dyer, Crown Agent and Chief Executive of the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service receive a CBE for services to law and order in Scotland alongside Councillor Simon Henig, Leader of Durham County Council for political and public service.

Nicola Gott, Founder of SHE’s GOTT IT, Bernadette Knill, Lately Headteacher of Priory Woods Special School in Middlesbrough and Godfrey James Worsdale, former Director and Chief Executive of Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art all receive an OBE.

A number of people are to receive MBEs, including David Anthony John Bartlett, Founder of Pear Tree Projects, Carol Bottomley, Higher Executive Officer in the Department for Education, Dorothy Clark for services to the community in Greatham Village, Shaun Gettings, former Prison Officer at HMP Frankland and Steph Houghton, Captain of the England Women’s Football Team and Manchester City Women’s Football Club.

British Empire Medals have also been awarded to Kenneth Ball, Station Manager at Consett Fire Station, Maureen Dobbie for services to the community in Teesdale, Kenneth Hayes for services to the Elderly and Vulnerable in Hartlepool, Councillor William Hill for services to the community in Horden and Clive Hubery, Chair of Governors at The Oaks Secondary School in Spennymoor for services to Education.